Principles for the selection of Faculty Council Members and Operation of the Faculty Council:

Each Faculty Council member should represent the whole Faculty and be approved by the whole Faculty. The Bylaw requirement is that elections must result in a minimum of two faculty members coming from each college, not that each college elects two faculty members prior to the April election. Each college may nominate two members prior to the April election as we have done, but ALL prospective faculty council members must be elected in the April Faculty Meeting.

The Faculty should seek BALANCE in Council membership. Members of the Council should be from various corners of the University, representing many different viewpoints. Differences of approach and opinion among faculty generally should be self-consciously incorporated in the Council membership itself. We need to avoid "stacking" Council membership to represent only a single faction, point of view, or silo of the faculty.

Nominees should be listed by their tenure status and college affiliation.

In view of the above points, additional nominations from the floor should be allowed in the April Faculty Meeting.

The Council is not there to lord over the Faculty as sometimes is the case with Faculty Senates. It is there to work collaboratively with the Faculty. Any Council discussions of departments or programs should include members of those departments or programs. Any discussion of matters pertaining to committees should include those committees or members of those committees. The Council should be in the habit of having guests at the table.

Faculty members who seek a seat on the Council need to be committed to a fair amount of labor for the Council. That means not belonging to so many other committees and responsibilities that it is not possible to give an adequate level of effort to the proceedings, being committed to doing the work of the Council, and working on behalf of their colleagues in the Faculty.

The Council does not begin its representative function until August 15. Prior to that time, Council members are just another member of the Faculty, having no special authority.

The Bylaws Committee and Parliamentarian

Dana Flint Abbes Maazaoui Stephen McCullough Susan Safford